After Much Waiting, The Haiku Contest Results

I do apologize for the waiting, but the first delay was an attempt to get more entries, the second to hear back from some truly extraordinary judges. I ended up receiving 6 entries and having an equal number of judges, whose judgment I truly value.
George is a writer who has recently begun a program of graduate studies and a thoughtful and lively new blog. Jacob is a writer and a poet and a sensitive thinker about issues of culture and faith. Tim, who is a member of my house church, generally has more creative projects going than this guy has plates spinning. He has a fun business (make sure you check out the gallery), which incorporates many of his talents, even it ain’t all fun and games to man a booth at several weddings and a high school prom of a weekend. Louise, is a former student worker at the library I used to work at, an uber Kurt Vonnegut fan (she is truly in mourning), and now the very comptent editor of Lewis and Clark Community College’s student newspaper, The Bridge. I have a distinct feeling that I am one day going to be saying about her “I knew her when…” Kirstin is a wonderful writer and the editor of catapult, to which I submit pieces upon occasion. And last, but certainly not least, Aaron is writer and poet, whom I am just getting to know and who runs an impressive poetry series at the Schlafly Tap Room, which I encourage you to attend if you are in the St. Louis area. Thank you to all of you judges for bringing such talent, judgment, and energy to this contest, and for taking the time to read haiku.
And now, without further preamble, the results….
Best Autumn Haiku
H.H.
Grey clouds, ominous
over golden, harvest fields-
a time to gather.

Runner Up: (tie) Heidi Vincent and Laura Wachsmuth
Best Winter Haiku: (tie)
Heidi Vincent
Frost buries the pane
chilly snap of a bough’s branch
Winter takes its kill

Laura Wachsmuth
Throw a little snow
up into moon-lit branches
crow wings flood the night

Runner Up: H.H.</strong
Grand Prize Winner: (tie)
Heidi Vincent and Laura WachsmuthRunner Up: H.H.
After six judges each assigning scores out of 10 to each haiku, Heidi Vincent and Laura received identical scores on their autumn and winter haiku respectively. They both scored a 94 out of a possible 120 points for the winning scores for their pairs of haiku. And to the commenter on a previous post who lamented the use of spreadsheets in judging, well I agree in principle that poetry should have no use for spreadsheets, yet it was the simplest way to quantify scores and try to fairly determine who received the most consistent recognition across a panel of diverse judges.
Congratulations to Heidies and to Laura. And many thanks to each of you entrants who participated. I truly enjoyed reading your pieces which follow and conducting the contest. Here’s hoping for even more entrants for Haiku Contest II to be held sometime in the dead of the coming winter for spring and summer haiku.
Ah, and the prizes. Well, in response to the tie, each winner will get a Toblerone or chocolate bar of her choice, and to the four extant prizes listed here and here, I am going to add this and this. Laura and Heidi V, you are just going to have to negotiate how to divide them.
And now on to the the point of all of this and to some lovely haiku…
Susan August
harvest peacekeeper –
scarecrow stands where the fields merge
to exchange their crops
waiting in the stream
dates from an old calendar –
ice is gathering

H.H.
Grey clouds, ominous
over golden, harvest fields-
a time to gather.
Discount-store fruit-cake
Mistletoe hid in pocket.
Christmas mis-givings.

Angela Heirendt
The bright heavens hold
Arms replete with painted leaves:
Rapturous embrace.
Hush of silent pond
Winter dusk sunlight descends
With sparkles of frost

Carol Lah
Eating toblerone
Leaves crunching under my feet
Cool breeze runs through hair
Rolling balls of snow
Sledding on rough icy hill
Toblerone on mind

Heidi Vincent
Winter shakes Autumn
And her leaves fall to her feet
She turns, blushing spring
Frost buries the pane
chilly snap of a bough’s branch
Winter takes its kill

Laura Wachsmuth
Whisper autumn’s here
A single leaf turns and falls
Red on withered green
Throw a little snow
up into moon-lit branches
crow wings flood the night

2 thoughts on “After Much Waiting, The Haiku Contest Results

  1. Great! I would love to share my chocolate with all of you lovely judges and haikuists (You included Neil). I’m thinking Forest Park, dusk, in a week or two? Poetry sharing? “Dead Poets Society” style? Let me know if any of you are interested. If so, I’ll organize it!
    P.S. Hey, Laura, mind if I get the Shakespeare book of twisted tales? Although I also could go for the bug box!

    Like

  2. I like your idea, Heidi. I will join the gathering if it takes flight.
    That’s fine if you want to claim the Shakespear book of twisted tails! I’m excited to get some free chocoloate. I was going to buy a big bar at Aldi’s the other day but I opted for some hazelnut/cream filled wafers instead and now I’m glad for that decision.
    It was a fun contest, Neil. My winter Haiku was inspired from the trip to Minnesota last February. Do you remember all those crows in the trees?

    Like

Comments are closed.