In Ruins II – The West End – St. Louis – The Artistic Appeal of Ruin – Lomography

I drive by this house and I am drawn to take its picture. You will have come to this blog and you will be compelled to “Like” this post. And I do not mean to say that as a sort Jedi mind trick, as in “You will like this post.” But sometimes I am perplexed by my own fascination with such scenes.

Despite having what I feel is a laudable desire in myself to find beauty in broken things, some of my appeal for such images is culturally conditioned, I am sure, and perhaps is a byproduct or even a luxury from living in relative affluence. Do people who may have to live in such places, or other types of squalor, feel any sort of artistic draw to them, except perhaps for a nostalgic or reflective aesthetic draw later when they have escaped from them? Paging Dr. Maslow…

I once had a friend who was bi-polar and so suffered from a fair amount of ruin and fracture in his own person. He was also from another culture which seemed to give him less of a tolerance for things not overtly beautiful being set up as art (the discussion of culture and beauty and art will have to wait for another time). He would look at my some of my pictures of urban ruins and broken glass and say that they made him feel bad.

I am not sure what to make of my own ramblings here or if I have found a satisfactory place for them to land. In the meantime, enjoy (?) these two shots of a ruined house in my neighborhood. The color palettes are slightly different in each of these images, though both are rather stylized in the lomo style.

7 thoughts on “In Ruins II – The West End – St. Louis – The Artistic Appeal of Ruin – Lomography

  1. I love the emotive quality of these photos. Really, really wonderful. On a side note, you have some lint in your camera that is showing up on your photo – I have a piece of lint that I simply can not remove and it is DRIVING ME CRAZY! I am thankful for my healing tool…

    Like

  2. Pingback: On Photography – On Shooting Ruins – The Dassler Effect

Comment. Question. Reply.

