The vine that ate the West End – Kudzu in Winter – St. Louis, Missouri

  

4 thoughts on “The vine that ate the West End – Kudzu in Winter – St. Louis, Missouri

  1. Wow. I did’t know that kudzu had come to StL. I live in the Pacific Northwest now but I remember having seen whole forests inundated by kudzu in the 70s and seeing amazing such sights in the city of New Orleans even last year. But I had never seen it in StL! This is something to contemplate. In any case, I appreciate your consistent lovingness toward my very beloved hometown and its environs! Thank you Neil.

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, you are very welcome! I am glad I can serve as a link to St. Louis for you. This is my neighbor’s carriage house. Last summer I had a friend who works at the Missouri Botanical Garden come with a co-worker to confirm that this is, indeed, kudzu. I don’t see it many places in St. Louis, but it is next door and every summer I work to beat it back.

      Like

  2. Lesson in not letting the yard work get ahead of you… Impressive! We cut pine trees in Maine only to find a jungle grow up in about three years.

    Like

    • This is my neighbor’s carriage house, Mrs. Yates. Last summer I had a friend who works at the Missouri Botanical Garden come with a co-worker to confirm that this is, indeed, kudzu. I don’t see it many places in St. Louis, but it is next door and every summer I work to beat it back. You are right that perhaps I should try to do some preemptive cutting now!

      Like

Comment. Question. Reply.

